Curriculum Information

Australia is currently implementing a national framework for schooling, which aims to raise education standards and achieving nationally consistent curriculum, assessment and reporting.
The Australian curriculum is based on consistent core content and achievement standards.  The first phase of the Australian Curriculum began with the learning areas of English, Mathematics, Sciences and History. The second phase includes Geography, Languages and The Arts.
The Queensland Government announced that the F(P)-10 Australian Curriculum in English, Mathematics and Science will be taught in all Queensland schools from 2012. History will follow from 2013. Schools have familiarised themselves with the new curriculum in English, Mathematics, Science and History as well as exploring new approaches to teaching, assessment and reporting processes.
St Brendan’s continues to implement English, Mathematics, Science and History from the Australian curriculum along with other schools in Brisbane Catholic Education and has done so since the beginning of 2013. During 2014, St Brendan’s will explore the new Geography curriculum with plans to fully implement this new learning area by the end of 2014.
In line with modern primary education practice, learning areas may be taught in an integrated/connected manner i.e. a unit of work may include English, Art and Science focus for instance. When this is not appropriate or possible, ‘stand alone’ units of work for learning areas will be implemented.

To keep parents up to date with specific curriculum content, appropriate to their child’s developmental level, teachers will communicate this information in a variety ways at different stages throughout the year.

Curriculum change and development is an area of review and revision at St Brendan ’s School. Professional learning of teachers and support staff is of high priority so as to provide quality teaching and learning.

In alignment with the Melbourne Declaration Goals for Young Australians our approach to teaching and learning includes:
  • Promoting equity and excellence for all learners
  • Enabling all students to become successful learners, confident and creative individuals; and active and informed citizens
  • Considers lifelong learning 
  • Offers expanded opportunities within a variety of contexts
  • Encourages a flexible approach
  • Reflects a connected curriculum when and where appropriate and possible
  • Has Literacy, Numeracy and Information Communication Learning Technologies embedded in all curriculum areas




Further curriculum information can be obtained by contacting Brisbane Catholic Education or the Queensland Studies Authority